Soap opera…………

It`s the 23rd of December today and at the moment all is quiet apart from a snoring dog and busy Degus that I acquired yesterday, as they were unwanted and being kept in a garage.

Today I saw one of my Sisters exs from long ago, I have always remained good friends with him as he used to lodge with me over ten years ago. He bought his Girlfriend and her daughter, and it was nice to have a good chat and a laugh, plus he fixed my new toilet seat. Each time I see him these days he seems to have more tattoos!

My life has been very Jeremy Kyle over the last three years, since I married in 2008 and seven months after, my Husband left me for another.

I had raised his child over the previous seven and a half years, from aged five in the fact it was me that had them every other weekend, half of every school holidays, paid half for every `family` holiday we went on each year,  and they spent every Christmas at mine, though we never lived together and I didn`t have to. However though in the last year me and the child weren`t getting on it had more to do with the Father not making the effort with my child and a growing resentment in me that they weren`t treated equally and it was me that put in all the effort.

However, life is a soap opera as most of us grow to realise, and now the now teenager occasionally visits me, and we get on well. This time they bought their love interest and I had two teenage couples under my roof, and I was the single one, a role reversal!

The Father visited the child at mine, with his new toddler in tow (The reason marriage breakup couldn`t be mended, though he`s not a happy man.) and all was amicable for childs sake and from the outside very confusing for people to understand, but it`s my belief we owe it to our children to put ourselves second and them first and hopefully that will make they themselves better people too.

My child was glad to catch up and see them, as they both say they grew up as siblings and I loved to sit and listen to them chat, as I do miss the family atmosphere and the business that went with it all. It wasn`t always good as they fought too, but all very normal for two children rivalling for the attention, especially as they had both been only children up till they were five and seven years old.

To add to that I received a lovely Christmas card from exs Mother, who still never forgets, which never fails to touch me.

About Maith an cailin

Born in the 1960s, I`m a single Mum of a young adult. I am a full-time wheelchair user, who has been single since a marriage breakdown in 2008. I live in a UK remote village, not easy with a disability but this is a honest account of a ordinary Woman with a disability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

