March here…………

I can`t believe it`s march already, it`s flown so far!

Sadly my old furry Friend took a sudden turn for the worse at the end of february and is now in `Deavon.` He became suddenly ill on the Friday evening being sick and continued over the weekend;  I miss his snoring at night but it was the best and kindest thing to do for him. I wasn`t able to go with him, as I wasn`t able to get anyone that could take myself, wheelchair and the dog in their car and to have him put down at home was £165. (£100 more than at the vets.) My Son and his friend both went with the kind lady that offered. My little old boy lay in the garden beside the fence as he`d always walk his perimeter each time he went out there.

My Stepson never came to visit after all, which was a shame but I half expect him not to as he`s bad for saying something and thennot  contacting again until long after the date has gone. However he`s sixteen and I remember being a teen where you live for the moment and oblivious to anything outside your bubble. As i`m typing this he has just contacted me with: “I will come down Easter defentialy!”

My new electric wheelchair has been ordered, Magenta pink! So it`s just a matter of weeks! The fundraising still continues for the manual wheelchair, but it gets ever nearer and to get a lawn mower shed to keep the outdoor one I, away from  the weather.

I had a date this Friday with a guy i`ve been chatting to every day for the last six weeks and we get on really well. Sadly though the date wasn`t to be as he is unemployed, lives near london and his unemployment money didn`t come through, but we`re still chatting, so who knows? So many people without jobs now, it`s sad really as there`s so few out there. Time may tell whether we`ll still meet, but we remain in daily contact and he seemed genuinely sorry and keener than ever to get a job and meet.

I did find it a bit embarrassing too though as even organising a date is like a military operation as I have to ask a friend or my Sister to drop me off and pick me up, for my safety and also because I can`t get on buses or drive; Naturally when I get stood up or it doesn`t happen I then have to explain. *Blush*

Apart from that life is very groundhog day, with each day seeming the same and I am so grateful for my Mother being nearby to visit, respite from my own home. I have continued to stick to my £50 a month to treat my home; January saw my Son get new bedding, February and I got new bedding. This month may be missed though as it`s my Nephews birthday and also St Patrick’s day where my son & I celebrate, this year a Irish Friend is making our Soda bread instead of buying it at Tescos. I always buy my Son and my Father a gift too and lay our table at home with Irish food and the compulsory Guinness and Bailey’s.

Beannachtaí na Féile Pádraig oraibh!

 

 

 

 

About Maith an cailin

Born in the 1960s, I`m a single Mum of a young adult. I am a full-time wheelchair user, who has been single since a marriage breakdown in 2008. I live in a UK remote village, not easy with a disability but this is a honest account of a ordinary Woman with a disability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

