People………..

  Well it`s 13:03, Tuesday and my Lad is as per usual sleeping the day away after returning home in the early hours from a friends, who equally has no motivation from life. They are the invisible generation, there`s no work, no incentive, and I do feel for them.

Where we live there are farms, plenty of them, but they employ exchange students when the work comes in and so the local teens don`t even bother trying as the jobs are gone before they come in. I understand they are cheaper labour, and more willing to do the dirty jobs, but it is disheartening for our children. To work in town is £5 to get there on the buses each time, and that leaves few jobs that would pay well enough to be worth it. The buses are less and less, and it takes  military strategy to work out how to get there in time and return before the last bus, which is getting earlier and earlier. When at college the bus passes and EMA are gone and so parents are having to find the extra money. Meanwhile the governments answer is to raise the age that pensioners stay in work, leaving yet more jobs remaining filled and the normal order of things gone. It is hard enough for the young living in towns, but they make it almost impossible for the rural ones, that especially don`t have parents that work and drive and so my Son lay in bed feeling his life is over before it has begun.

However we have a meeting at his college on Friday and hopefully we can sort my Son and his college life out and put some things in order for him.

Meanwhile I too am getting to the stage where I feel life is passing me by and get up later, go to bed earlier and soon it won`t be worth bothering to get up at all!

I am still fundraising to get a new wheelchair for indoors, and have written a few e-mails for raffle prizes, but they insist that they only give to registered charity’s not individuals, so I am trying to find a way round that.

The open university refused my application for financial help for another course as they only help with one, which was very disappointing as I don`t have that sort of money. I am proud though that I achieved one and maybe in the future.

I used to have a lot of pet Lop eared rabbits, and last year gave my Sister the Great Grandma of them all after her daughter died and left her alone. As my Sister had her Grandchildren I was happier for her to go there and not be alone in her very old age. She passed this Sunday with them around her, I was glad about that as she was a lovely old lady.

As for the Date that didn`t happen. He was quiet for a few days but is insisting his money comes through next Friday and then `Here I come!` However I am beginning to wonder if it is all worth it as he`s so far, doesn`t own a car, and has no money, so even if we did get on in person, (We get on well by phone) it would be hit and miss to see each other or even for phone credit. Still chewing this over.

I told very few people about my starting dating again, but when I made the mistake of mentioning it on facebook I was shocked by the girls that were so opposed about me not bothering, telling me to  stay single. I understand that everyone advises from their own position, and took that on board but they did shock me in their venom against men. I really don`t believe that a few bad apples make a whole basket and there are good men out there. (I just haven`t met them yet!) Having been single four years this year, I am simply dipping my toe in, not skinny dipping yet and explained this to said girls, but they insisted I stay single forever!

About Maith an cailin

Born in the 1960s, I`m a single Mum of a young adult. I am a full-time wheelchair user, who has been single since a marriage breakdown in 2008. I live in a UK remote village, not easy with a disability but this is a honest account of a ordinary Woman with a disability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

