Summertime!

Summertime here in the UK hasn`t exactly been one of sunshine and picnics, apart from a few days just gone, where in typical English style, we complained of the heat! (This is usually done after baking ourselves till we`re sore and have a headache! lol.)

Nature has a way of putting things in perspective and floods and tragic stories have taken up our news to make us appreciate our own situations.

I, at the moment, feel like the only person that hasn`t been out and about, on holiday or even paddled in the sea, I know that it is daft, and i`m wrong but facebook can be the worst thing in the world in the Sunny weather!

I often regret my youthful traveller tendencies, where I would just stay somewhere a couple of years and then move on as circumstances and people changed. I loved it at the time, and loved the rush of waking up on a different floor or sofa. However now I have a lot of friends, but not where I live, and now I am back to being a single woman, it`s become a problem.

I moved here from Littlehampton twenty years ago, and sometimes wished I had stayed, apart from having my Son here. I helped at a cat & rabbit rescue, and also `fostered` bunnies for them. I rode at a local riding for the disabled club and had passed my bronze within six weeks of started there. I was also involved in disability places and though divorced and single again, I was active and busy.

I have decided due to financial reasons and also because I believe I am too nervous a driver, that i am returning the car and stopping the lessons. Maybe not forever, but for now. I would benefit more from having the extra money, as it takes up £200 a month and £60 to fill each time, money that I could use on the odd taxi or suchlike to improve my life.

Summertime though has been busy so far in the shape of nine and three year old Nephews, who I care for while their parents work. We enjoy each others company and have a a lot of fun while we do, this usually involved getting messy!

I also got my wonderful new magenta pink Quickie helium wheelchair, which at first felt scary as it is so light, but now I wonder how I ever managed without it!

I like many worldwide have been disgusted and upset by the way an innocent dog has been treated. I signed the `save lennox` petition and hoped that this innocent dog could be saved and if not at least treated with humanity.  *Below follows an extract from Lennox’s owners:

“Lennox is a loveable 5 year old family member. He’s an American Bull dog cross that we have owned since he was a little pup. On Wednesday the 19th May 2010 he was taken from our family home by Belfast City Council as they believe he falls under the dangerous dogs act for Northern Ireland. The Council, without seeking any proper professional guidance declared Lennox to be a breed of “Pitbull Type” and so they wish to kill him simply because he has the appearance of said breed. Lennox has never attacked anyone or anything yet the council have removed him from his home where he lives with my wife, myself, our 12 year old Daughter and his soul mate Juicy, a 2 year old female boxer. Belfast City Council are pressuring our family to sign him over to them to be destroyed however we feel the need to fight his case, he cannot speak but we will be his voice! If this was a human we would declare this racism. We ask every kind hearted person for your support, don’t let them murder him.”

He wasn`t treated with kindness and instead secrecy and lies. He was claimed to be aggressive, despite footage of him with the woman claiming she was scared of him, sitting while he licked her.There was rumours of lennox being seen with sores and open wounds and that he may have been found dead months ago.  Lennoxs owners where not able to see him alive or dead, or have his ashes or collar and the media were told he`d been murdered before them. The petition went worldwide, famous dog trainer Victoria Stillwell offered to take him to a new home in America but nothing saved this sweet natured dog or his loyal owners.

 I went to a meet Thursday, where I mingled with new-ish friends and enjoyed their company. We were a quaint little cafe and chatted about our recent events.

I was told that very soon i`ll be getting a pay as you go phone to start my voluntary befriending, where people can ring me if they are feeling as though they need to reach out to someone.

I came off the dating site!

About Maith an cailin

Born in the 1960s, I`m a single Mum of a young adult. I am a full-time wheelchair user, who has been single since a marriage breakdown in 2008. I live in a UK remote village, not easy with a disability but this is a honest account of a ordinary Woman with a disability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summertime!

  1. Sheila Herd says:

    If it makes you feel better, we’re not going on holiday either, for the nth year in a row 😉 Facebook can make you feel bad like that I agree..

Leave a Reply

