Sunshine!

  Yayyyyyyyyyy, at last, some sunshine! Now people are complaining it`s too hot! lol. I spent yesterday sitting in the garden, reading my book and watching my poultry, so tranquil.

Today is the final day of the olympics, and children everywhere are now modelling themselves on Tom Dailey, Mo Farah, Luke Cambell, Ed McKeever, and Usain Bolt of Jamaica and long may it reign as it`s so much healthier than gadget games. Even my gadget obsessed Nephew has been rolling round the floor doing back flips and gymnastics!

Us Women have done well too, and as a boxing fan, I was glad to see History made as Team GB’s Nicola Adams becomes the first female Olympic boxing champ bagging 24th GOLD for Britain!

Sadly another story overshadowing the good news, is the sad story of a twelve year old girl that went missing last week, and was due to start a camping holiday with her real Grandad today, instead her Grandmothers boyfriend of five years murdered her last week. What sort of world do we live in where our children arn`t even safe at home with their families? RIP, Tia Sharp.

About Maith an cailin

Born in the 1960s, I`m a single Mum of a young adult. I am a full-time wheelchair user, who has been single since a marriage breakdown in 2008. I live in a UK remote village, not easy with a disability but this is a honest account of a ordinary Woman with a disability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunshine!

  1. Reall glad I found you on Facebook and to find you do a blog too fantastic stuff!
    I am a new ish first time mummy, I have a 19 month old son who unlikely me is very healthy, heck I am healthy just riddled with arthritis since I was my sons age!

    I try to write a blog to support disabled parents parent independently and well, I am not single I have a hubby also with youth arthritis. However the world of parents is still very much owned by able bodied and the lack of help or knowledge out there for disabled parents is shocking so I and husband are trying to remedy this by our small knowledge base. I am trying to build a blog with other disabled parents blogs on it so there is a wide range of knowledge available to knew parents.

    My recent concerns are , son when will you get walking, just had ankle replaced need it to be soon as my joints and daddy’s cant take much more heaving you around, will my son be bullied at school because his parents walk differently and look a bit different? How do I contain my son when he is walking? Don’t know if you have any thoughts but sling them my way if you do please 🙂

    Have to say where you live sounds lovely. Nothing like fresh hen eggs is there.

    • Hello.
      My Son is now nearly 19, and it was mostly a positive experience and he has bought a lot of love and goodness in my life.
      In primary school he did go through some bullying, but I found that as soon as he was old enough to bring friends home that was the end of it. He has now has friends that he has had since he was eleven, friends that are just accepting of me and often as protective as my Son can be. One friend that has stayed with us on and off since he was eleven and is now seventeen is better at wheelchair wheelies than me! lol.
      My Son has always had a disabled Mum, and only since he has got in his late teens has he started to `worry` about me, but that may also coincide with my now being single and he feels he needs to look after me, not something I want him to feel the burdon of.
      When my Son was a baby I found having a baby walker a godsend as I didn`t need to carry him so much and he loved being upright and able to move. (Backwards at first, lol) Once he was up and running, we used to go for country walks where he had a wrist strap and an extending dog lead (Not as bad as it sounds) and this gave me control and him freedom, and when he was tired he`d sit on my footplates and always knew to lift his feet up.

      As disabled parents, we now our limits and very quickly so do our children and all the way along we adapt, compromise and learn as we go along!

Leave a Reply

