Paralympics, proud to be disabled!

As I type this I have the Paralympics on in the background for the third day; My Mother is fed up of me putting it on when I go to hers each time I pop round.

Oscar Pistorius has just walked his race and the cheers from the crowd was unanimous regardless of nationality. He has made the divide between disabled and abled that bit closer.

I come from a London/Irish family and ever since I was small have never known which side to support, whether it be the Eurovision song contest, (Mum used to watch it, lol) Football, Rugby, anything really and here I am again. I tend to lean more towards Ireland in most things as that is my Family name and I was never very close to my mother’s side. However this time I am feeling equal and supporting both. As I type this GB have 36 medals and Ireland 4.

 Hannah Cockcroft and her chair `Sally` were so fantastic and I couldn`t help but cheer her spirit.  She crossed the finish line in a Paralympic record of 18.06 seconds, taking a further 0.18 off the record she had set in the morning’s heats. She was over a second clear of Amy Siemons of the Netherlands, who clocked 19.49 in second place.

Jason Smythe of Ireland.

Jason Smyth the fastest Paralympic runner of all-time as he sets new world record to win T13 100m gold

Living up to his billing as the Usain Bolt of Paralympic sport, Irishman Jason Smyth sped to a new 100 metres world record in the Olympic Stadium, defended his blue riband T13 crown and successfully protected his proud title as the fastest disabled runner of all-time.

I sat and cried when Ellie Simmonds started and as she continued to cry during her interview, so did I, lol. She did so so well despite the turns being harder against the taller American girl. “I gave it everything and that last 50m just killed me. I had no regrets and I just gave it my all. I’m on the edge of the world right now,” she said. “She was with me and on that last 50m I gave it everything. It was so tough, one of the toughest races of my life.”

 Bethany Firth of Ireland also got a gold, both young girls did their countries proud! Bethany Firth claimed a gold medal in the pool  for Ireland when she won the S14 100 metres backstroke at the Aquatics  Centre.

I`ve no doubt I shall remain obsessed, and feeling inspired and proud to be disabled as the shift of understanding and admiration towards us continues to move forward.

About Maith an cailin

Born in the 1960s, I`m a single Mum of a young adult. I am a full-time wheelchair user, who has been single since a marriage breakdown in 2008. I live in a UK remote village, not easy with a disability but this is a honest account of a ordinary Woman with a disability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

