Broken!

To  succeed in life, you need three things: a wishbone, a backbone and a funny  bone.
Reba  McEntire.
Wednesday, the 21st of November, I was at the hospital. Me, Myself and a little orange slip from my GP. After going round and round the Hospital car park for what seemed endless, until finally one guy was backing out and we nipped in quick. We then sat in the X-ray waiting room for another hour and a half, watching people who came in after us go in before us. Finally I got to go in and lift myself up on the table and lay down. I already knew the outcome, just not the extent. I asked the diagnostic engineer if I could see the X-ray after it was done as I `can read my own X-rays,` she kindly agreed.

I was born with a condition called Osteogenesis Imperfecta and a broken leg and ribs. I was whisked away from my Mum at 6wks and dangled by both legs on traction. That was the start of over a hundred fractures and annual pinning of my femurs from primary school age till I was in my teens. Intramedullary (IM) rods are used to align and stabilize fractures. IM rods are inserted into the bone marrow canal in the center of the long bones of the extremities, and without these my legs may never have been strong enough for me to walk. (Not my own X-ray, example but example of rodding.)

So here I was laying on the X-ray table, watching the machine hover over me like the aviator film. After two x-rays I was ready to get back down and go and see!

(Example X-ray, not my own)  This is what faced me, but with the rod still within the bone. I wasn`t shocked that it was broken, but I thought the rod was holding it together but nope, it was broken too! It explains the pain whenever I try to weight bare and how when I over did the tai chi a few weeks ago the pain for weeks after was excruciating.

I was so lucky to have RNOH Stanmore as my second home as a child, and the wonderful Mr Wilson as my consultant; He felt like a trusted uncle to me as a child. He let me speak for myself to student Drs. He never restricted me in any way, and let me show him the way to a point. Id always worn the much hated calipers as a child, they were heavy, made me stand out from other children and wore holes in my trowsers. I wasn`t able to wear nice clothes like other children, as jeans had to be baggy enough to go over them and I didn`t want to wear anything else that would show them.  At the age of fifteen I went in for a scoliosis operation. (curvature of the spine) I was now a fashion conscious teen and had stopped wearing the ugly calipers after school. Mr Wilson had come onto the ward while I was in and under another surgeon, he saw that I wasn`t wearing them, but walking alright and doing well. That was it, he said I no longer needed them! He was brilliant and In my own way I loved him.

Since moving away from my home area I have obviously had to attend other hospitals, though fortunately this is only my 3rd or 4th serious fracture since I was fifteen.  I have hated being in other Hospitals, losing the secure familiarity of Stanmore.

I could have been refered after the X-ray was seen this time, but I refused as I wanted to come home. (Id been there long enough!) So my details were sent to my local GP surgery with the results. This friday I had a call from one of the Drs who so obviously felt out of his depth, as he said: `I have the results of your X-ray here, would you like make an appointment with Dr …..?` The other Dr being my regular GP for the last sixteen years, and so I see him on the 4th of December as he`s now semi retired, no rush then! lol.

I know that I will have to have it operated on, something that scares me hugely. I could have had it fixed when I first did it eighteen years ago but my Son was only thirteen months ago, and so for the last eighteen years raising him has been my first priority.

I already know that I want it done under a epidural instead of anesthetic as they terrify me.I won`t have it done this side of Christmas, no way!  I will only stay in Hospital until the pain subsides and then discharge myself as I can`t bare the thought of staying in. Though it will be a lot better this time. Eighteen years ago when I first broke my `good leg` I had only moved here a year before, I only had my Sons Father and my baby and hadn`t made any friends yet; I didn`t realise that I was suffering from post natal depression at the time as well. This time I have Family in the area, and friends to visit, so I`ll not feel so isolated or vulnerable and that will help a great deal.

About Maith an cailin

Born in the 1960s, I`m a single Mum of a young adult. I am a full-time wheelchair user, who has been single since a marriage breakdown in 2008. I live in a UK remote village, not easy with a disability but this is a honest account of a ordinary Woman with a disability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

