“Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?”

“Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?”
“That depends a good deal on where you want to get to,” said the Cat.
“I don’t much care where–” said Alice.
“Then it doesn’t matter which way you go,” said the Cat.
“–so long as I get SOMEWHERE,” Alice added as an explanation.
“Oh, you’re sure to do that,” said the Cat, “if you only   walk long enough.”
(Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, chap 6.)

fairytales & books.

Somehow I missed January in this years blog, not sure how or why, but i`m here now! Thank you for passing by and reading these, but I would love to know a little more about who you are,  where and why you chose to add me, so please leave me a message sometime.

Friends 2

After seeing in the new year with more of a fizzle of a firework than a sparkle. My hungover Son had gone to bed early and even the dog went to bed before me. I listened to the ships honk at midnight and watched a few fireworks before going to bed myself.

January the 1st I cleaned my home and took all the Christmas decorations down with a positive mind for this year as 13 has been  lucky for me, in my happiest home and the birth of my Son.

January the 3rd and a visit to my local Hospital for my leg fracture. I left with a sunken feeling after being told that it would be `unlikely to fuse together again.` They could operate but only to stablise and lessen pain and I couldn`t have a epidural as I`d had a scoliosis operation at fifteen. I have a morbid fear of anesthetics and had hoped to be awake if I had it operated on. It was a huge disappointment and I wasn`t altogether happy with the surgeons attitude. He came into the little room that was more like a big L shaped cupboard with no windows, he came in, there was no X-rays up or notes available and seemed to have made his decision before entering. However he is the only orthopedic surgeon at this Hospital. So through my GP I have asked for a referral to RNOH Stanmore where I grew up and now I am waiting to hear.

RNOH_Stanmore_NHS

I`m still doing my volunteer befriending and though it can sometimes be challenging with some of the service users, it is also very rewarding. It gives me a feeling of being useful if that makes any sense.

I have looked after my Nephews on and off, sometimes early mornings which I`m no longer used to since my Son left education. The age difference (5 yrs) can be hard work as it means a totally different criteria for each of them, and then they battle for my attention which often ends in them fighting with each other.

I received my first psychology module results and was so disappointed in them as they were quite low, though still a pass. I grasp the subject matter, enjoy the course but the writing style is so specific and I struggled with that. I looked up how to write a table description and report writing and did my best, but needed to do more referencing. Hopefully i`ll do better this time on my TMA o2.

Frozen web

We`ve had a lot of snow, it`s been quite thick at times and the air really made me struggle with my asthma. One of our neighbours so kindly kept a path dug from my side door to my Mums front door, so that I could still get out for a little while each day; So kind of them.

Finally divorced

There`s such a lot of talk about the bedroom tax, which has been a huge worry to me as I have three bedrooms and one isn`t used as it was my stepsons room. It`s said to be £16 a week in a housing association property, which will be £64 a month out of my benefit and id have to find to pay. It was this that prompted me to go for spousal maintenance and though it goes against all I am as a person, it was this situation that has left me desperate to save my bacon. Since becoming single again I have lost money after money one way or another. Friends have encouraged me to go ahead as he left me without help or looking back, to start a new life with a new family, while I have continued to suffer the ripple effect. I start mediation this month and my ex is due to be notified any day which I am nervous about as I know he will be angry.

Singles awareness day

Today is valentines day or singles awareness day, I hope yours is being a good one, x

About Maith an cailin

Born in the 1960s, I`m a single Mum of a young adult. I am a full-time wheelchair user, who has been single since a marriage breakdown in 2008. I live in a UK remote village, not easy with a disability but this is a honest account of a ordinary Woman with a disability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

