Oh, to be in England now that April’s there.

Hello April.                                          Oh, to be in England now that April’s there.
Robert Browning.

Today’s April the 1st, and I`ve still not turned my kitchen calendar yet, only the one in my bedroom.  My Lad is too old to be playing tricks, but not too old for Easter eggs it seems, lol. I myself am feeling sick as I type from polishing off the lovely egg my mum bought and gave me yesterday, so half was eaten last night, the rest tonight. My way of thinking is, I can go back to being good tomorrow!

I don`t celebrate the christian Easter, but Oestara, the pagan festival. Yes we have eggs and Rabbits, but we also have the spring equinox and also the balance of light and dark. It`s not against god or other beliefs. I believe it`s beautiful as it`s all based on the beauty of nature and respecting it, but the last thing I wish to do it offend anyone or for them to get the wrong idea. I was once asked if I was a Satanist, and if they had really known me they would know I am the last person to harm anyone or anything, so me being a Satanist is daft! (Apart from the fact we don`t believe in the devil.)

Oestara (21 March)
It is the festival of the ancient Goddess Eostar, or Astarte, whose symbols were the egg and the hare, who gave rise to the term oestrus, and who is one of the oldest Goddesses of women and fertility, being traced back over 4,000 years. Oestara is the first of the spring.  The Goddess is maturing, not yet pregnant, but ready, prepared, willing to take her place beside the God, as ruler of fertility for mankind and the earth they inhabit. How can any of that be evil?Blessed Ostara

April is the month of Autism, and a time to honour those with it and their parents too.

Autism

  I have a dear Friend who`s Daughter has Aspergers,  she`s only a month younger than my own Son. They grew up together as we met at Mothers and Toddlers. Often a group of us would socialize and take our children to the local places where they could run free and play. When we all first met our children would have been around two years old. 

My Friends Daughter has always found it difficult around people and this became obvious around this age, as anyone approaching her pushchair as they walked a long would spark hysteria. Noise would cause the same reaction and other children running around boisterously. Yet alone, in her comfort zone she was beyond her years, able to recognize the alphabet letters at only 18mths old, whilst she and I were alone she read out words on my wheelchair.

She is a young woman now, with the interests of someone much younger, spoken in a tone of someone far older.  She struggled through mainstream  school, as other children soon learnt her `triggers` but also some understood and would try to stop them from winding her up or teasing. She went on to college, but picked acting as her chosen subject, not fully understanding the flamboyant, loud and busyness that it would entail but enjoyed new friends, even a `boyfriend` at one point. She had to leave in the end though and she is now `catching up` at home. She`s changing her hair and clothes to fit a style she wants to be and learning with the OU and wanting to clothes shop like any other young woman. She spends a lot of time on-line where she can be safe and articulate in the subjects she enjoys, and even communicates with her parents this way without interruption and time to choose her words.

I live opposite a young single Mum with a Son of about seven. They moved in when he was a tiny baby and I always wondered why as time went on that she kept her curtains closed. As a baby he could be heard crying non-stop some days or nights and even now he`s heard in the evenings or nights shouting or screaming. He`s a loving little lad, who has rushed over to hug me before now or shouted `I love you.` I admire her so much as it`s tough enough being a single Mum, but more so with a little Lad who`s a 100 miles an hour, has no sense of danger and needs so little sleep. I`ve seen her panic as he`s rushed towards a road, and he also ran into my home once, sat down and started chatting to me; bless her she looked so embarrassed and couldn`t apologize enough.

One of my young Nephews was also diagnosed with Autism, he`s six. He has his own ways of seeing the world, and I love the way he does, he`s himself. Some of the quotes his Mum shares with us are brilliant and I defy anyone not to smile! He used to get into trouble for accidentally hurting the other children at school and then he`d be upset. It took a while to get the right people to listen but I think they are now on a good road ahead and he`s getting the help he needs. I spoke to him on the phone at Christmas and he really listened as I spoke which was lovely.

To end this piece, I want to add something another friend added on her page, and I think it pushes aside the hard work and tears that sometimes goes with the reality of having a child with Autism and brings to the surface the simplicity of how they see the world compared to us: “As I come to terms with Ps autism I realise how much she has to teach and show me. Went for walk other day to her fav “rabbit hole walk” she suddenly said “orange and green” I searched my head for where these colours had come from in her head, then I saw it…..the floor was covered in vibrant dark orange and green moss, it was amazing, someone could have said to me “look at the wonderful colours of the moss” It wouldnt have really touched me, but someone making you see it for the first time for yourself is pretty powerful stuff.”

Autisnm

April also brings the start of the Bedroom/Council tax payments, for me a loss of £60 a month and no acknowledgement of the letter written to appeal against my DHP being refused. I have considered just NOT paying in protest and if they threaten me with eviction taking my story to all the papers, but still chewing this over as I have my Son to consider. A day in the life of IDS.

Already a politician has stated that he could and has had to live on just £53 a week, but when asked to do so refused, as was a petition asking him to do so! Yet apart from the over 60s, Foster parents and parents with forces children abroad, it has been shown that rapists and paedophiles are also exempt. The reason being that sex offenders with large houses would not have their housing benefit cut because they couldn’t let a room out to a lodger and are almost impossible to rehouse. (When does this ever stop them when they house them near schools?) Child abusers and rapists freed from prison would still be housed in larger homes and not penalised as it is hard to find them suitable accommodation. That to me is the final insult! The DWP man told them sex offenders with large houses would not have their housing benefit cut because they couldn’t let a room out to a lodger and are almost impossible to rehouse.

About Maith an cailin

Born in the 1960s, I`m a single Mum of a young adult. I am a full-time wheelchair user, who has been single since a marriage breakdown in 2008. I live in a UK remote village, not easy with a disability but this is a honest account of a ordinary Woman with a disability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh, to be in England now that April’s there.

  1. Sheila Herd says:

    The whole bedroom tax is grossly unfair, the other thing is the people who are mainly occupying homes with more bedrooms than they need in social housing are retired, and they’ve been exempted because of the chaos it would cause.

Leave a Reply

