“I am not fearless. I get scared plenty. But I have also learned how to channel that emotion to sharpen me.” Bear Grylls.

The end of June went off with a bang and everyone talking about the Rolling Stones at Glastonbury. I sat and watched it with a mobile conversation in one hand and my eyes firmly fixed on the youth that is still Mick Jagger in my sitting room! Mick owned the stage like a man half his age, with Kieth Richards obviously loving every second judging by his smile. After 43years of Glastonbury, everyone loved it, including me, especially as they sang my favourite `paint it black.`

The guy Id been on my mobile too had been texting every night for quite some time, there wasn`t a subject we hadn`t covered and his honesty gained my respect. I had really got to like him as a person, as a friend and I had grown to hope it was the start of more. It seemed that nigher of us wanted the soppy fairytale, more a realistic friendship with a sprinkle of togetherness. He started to ask about meeting, and we arranged it. He started to ask if i was looking forward to meeting him and I was. We finally decided to meet on the Tuesday but by Sunday all communication by him had come to a sudden stop! On this occasion I was disappointed but had still prepared myself, just in case. sad_smiley

I met up with my closest friend during this time and told her all about him, she`s always amazingly supportive despite her own troubles.  We had a lovely lunch and I gave her a little card and present as she really has suffered horribly with depression for a long time now, and I was a little taken a back when she got emotional as she`s always such a controlled person. It was lovely though and that was the aim, to make her know she`s thought of and supported.

Bernie_Nolan.

So sad to read that Bernie Nolan had passed after having cancer for some time. As a child I had always been drawn to anything Irish, maybe in my search of identity: The Nolans, Dana (I always wanted to look like her) Val Doonican, Dave Allen, and when my Mum watched the Eurovision song contest I didn`t know what side of myself to choose from! lol. RIP Bernie, carry on singing with the Angels.

Andy-Murray-2013

The Scot Andy Murray won Wimbledon and though I don`t usually sit and watch Wimbledon I did this year for some reason, (maybe a left over bug from last years Olympics.) and i was glad I did. It was a exciting breath-holding finale when Murray needed four match points, he then dropped to his knees in celebration. “Winning Wimbledon is the pinnacle of tennis,” said the British No.1. “The last game almost increased that feeling. I worked so hard in that last game. It’s the hardest few points I’ve had to play in my life. I still can’t believe it. I can’t get my head around that.” Murray is the first British man since Fred Perry in 1936 to lift the trophy – and the first Brit to win Wimbledon in shorts. Andy, insisted he never believed he`d win: “No, I didn’t always feel it was going to happen,” he said. “It’s incredibly difficult to win these events. I don’t think that’s that well understood sometimes.”

Dalai Lama 3

It was also the Dalai Lamas` 78th birthday on the 6th July, someone I greatly respect. As part of my studies at the moment I am doing Mindfulness, and I can`t think of anyone more tranquil than this great man. His wish for everyone on his birthday was to “keep your own mind, your own heart compassionate, more so of spirit of seriously, genuinely  sense of concern of others well being, and with that sort of motivation, if possible, serve other, helping other people, also other animal.”

My Nephew is an Angel in Heaven.

One of my Nephews would have been three on the 9th of July, sadly the Angels took him just days before. RIP little man. A sad day to remember but not to speak of him is not to comfort his parents in a pain that never goes, and to forget a little man that was part of our family, no matter how short a time. So I prefer to mark his birthday each year and not to forget his short but important little life.

Two other sad events to be remembered, though quite different. Lennox a year on

A year ago today, Lennox, the American Bulldog-Labrador cross, typed as a Pit Bull, was killed in Belfast on the 11th of July 2012.. He had never injured anyone.
Lennox’s family was denied the chance to say goodbye, despite assurances they would be able to. BSL is misinformed and unjustly carried out, often good dogs are killed on looks alone, which is like saying everyone with blue eyes is dangerous! BSL is the real killer, and no breed alone can be all bad, and dogs like people should be judged only by their behaviour (and in a lot of cases by their owners.)

!2th July 2013, RIP Lee Rigby.

On the 12th was also Lee Rigbys funeral, the Drummer/Fusilier that lost his life on a London Street and caused a media frenzy where flowers lined the streets and Cenotaphs around the country. I don`t wish to get involved in any of the racial or religious discussions, all that really struck anyone with a soppy heart like me was this picture: Military Funeral For Fusilier Lee RigbyA little boy that keeps wanting to telephone his Daddy and too young to understand he`s gone forever.

Psychology books

I am still studying, in fact I ought to be doing it now but am instead catching up with this, lol. This essay has been a difficult one, a contrast and compare of Person-Centered and Mindfulness approaches in 2000 words. It has to be in by Sunday, and so I should get on and start tying up the loose ends. Psychology However I finally got my results back on my last course of Discovering Psychology and I PASSED!

 

Prince-William-and-Kate-royal-baby-Prince George.

 

Despite not being a Royalist myself, I should mention Britains biggest news the birth and much awaited arrival of His Royal Highness Prince George Alexander Louis, one day to be King George Vll.  Possibly named after the Queens Father, but a nice name as one of my Grandfathers was called George!

Historic. The German-born George I, left, the first Hanoverian king of Great Britain, acceded to the throne in 1714 . King George II is pictured right

 

Historic: The German-born George I, top, the first Hanoverian king of Great Britain, acceded to the throne in 1714 . King George II is pictured below.

 

 

King George 11

 

The first Prince George of Cambridge was a grandson of George III, pictured left in this portrait . George IV, right, was the eldest son of George III

 

The first Prince George of Cambridge was a grandson of George III, pictured above in this portrait . George IV, below, was the eldest son of George III

The first Prince George of Cambridge was a grandson of George III, pictured left in this portrait . George IV, right, was the eldest son of George III  2

 

King George V is pictured left while King George VI  right, married Queen Elizabeth, known later as the Queen Mother

 

King George V is pictured above while King George VI  below, married Queen Elizabeth, known later as the Queen Mother.
King George V is pictured left while King George VI  right, married Queen Elizabeth, known later as the Queen Mother  2

 

How times change, this little fella on his first venture out of the Hospital was faced with this: Paparrazzi

A modern Prince for a very modern world where everything he does, every thing he says, will be all over the world and back in seconds, a big task for any little boy that even us none Royalists can sympathies with!

Heir to the throne Kensington Palace revealed the baby's full name will be George Alexander Louis Heir to the throne, His Royal Highness George Alexander Louis of Cambridge.

 

About Maith an cailin

Born in the 1960s, I`m a single Mum of a young adult. I am a full-time wheelchair user, who has been single since a marriage breakdown in 2008. I live in a UK remote village, not easy with a disability but this is a honest account of a ordinary Woman with a disability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “I am not fearless. I get scared plenty. But I have also learned how to channel that emotion to sharpen me.” Bear Grylls.

  1. Sheila Herd says:

    My card is in my bedside draw and my necklace has been worn every single day!

    I’m sorry my advice on your love life didn’t work out though, what’s up with these men? looking forward to Monday and chewing it all over, lunch and life.

Leave a Reply

