Where there is love there is life. (Mahatma Gandhi)

11.La-muerte(C) Victoria Frances.

Winter is setting in here in the UK. The evenings are getting darker, colder and the fruit trees are hanging heavy for mabons harvest. My Mother has already seen a Robin and I`m typing this in my dressing gown at 22:32 on Friday the 13th. (I`m not superstitious about the number 13 or fridays.) The Greek words for

paraskevi – Friday dekatria – thirteen -phobia – indicates fear

There are too numerous reasons why both the number 13 and Fridays are held as unlucky, and it`s down to the individual as to how you feel about this day I think.

Black cats

My Son always says I am a hippy, and I laugh and wind him up even more, but yes basically I do actually believe that love is the answer to a lot of things and lack of love and security brings about a lot of sorrow.  What if we all love each other.

Often it is good to know your history, as George Santayana said-“Those who are unaware of history are destined to repeat it.”

Asylum

I have a relative that died in a asylum in 1915, in those days they were cold unfeeling places where often Women particularly were placed for no real mental health reason, often at just the convenience of a Husband or relative. Thankfully mental health units now have many reviews and people have a lot more control over their own course and treatment. Sadly one of my relatives are presently going through assessment at a psychiatric Hospital, and though it is a worry for us all, I do feel they are in the best place at the moment. I wish them a speedy recovery and wish their Children to have them back soon.

Mental illness  It is the guilt often though of the relatives when someone has a break down, and threatens suicide, and other such threats that is often the hardest to bare. Endless questions of `Did I do, say too much, or not enough? Was it my doing that they feel this way? Could I have done more? Should I have done less?`  Mental illness isn`t just hard for the person suffering with it, but everyone around them. Often we blame ourselves when in fact it isn`t our fault, sometimes they just can`t deal with anymore; sometimes it is hormonal or in their family make up, or their problems go far back into their own history.

Time to talk

Mental health myths and facts

  • Myth: Mental health problems are very rare.
  • Fact: 1 in 4 people will experience a mental health problem in any given year. 
  • Myth: People with mental illness aren’t able to work.
  • Fact: We probably all work with someone experiencing a mental health problem.
  • Myth: Young people just go through ups and downs as part of puberty, it’s nothing.
  • Fact: 1 in 10 young people will experience a mental health problem. 
  • Myth: People with mental health illnesses are usually violent and unpredictable.
  • Fact: People with a mental illness are more likely to be a victim of violence. 
  • Myth: People with mental health problems don’t experience discrimination
  • Fact: 9 out of 10 people with mental health problems experience stigma and discrimination. 
  • Myth: It’s easy for young people to talk to friends about their feelings.
  • Fact: Nearly three in four young people fear the reactions of friends when they talk about their mental health problems.
  • Talking about mental health
  •   To anyone going through this themselves or love someone going through his, or even just know someone that is going through mental health, just keep talking normally, and if they do want to talk about how they`re feeling, don`t be afraid, just listen, be there, it`s often enough, x. Big hugs
  • http://www.time-to-change.org.uk/
About Maith an cailin

Born in the 1960s, I`m a single Mum of a young adult. I am a full-time wheelchair user, who has been single since a marriage breakdown in 2008. I live in a UK remote village, not easy with a disability but this is a honest account of a ordinary Woman with a disability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Where there is love there is life. (Mahatma Gandhi)

  1. Claire says:

    I have suffered with a mental illness for about 18 years now…started as postnatal depression and never really left me…I have good days and bad days and over the years I have learnt what some of my triggers are and I have learnt to make allowances for my bad days, but more importantly I have learnt to forgive myself…once I give myself permission to be down/sad/angry etc. the moment usually passes, but if it doesn’t then that is fine, I just ride it out. Luckily for me I have a fantastic husband who really cares for me and the children understand too and have learnt how to handle me when I am ill, but the biggest hurdle I found was getting my mum to believe how ill I was at one point…She was in denial about her own depression, so would not admit I had it too, so everytime I saw her I would have to put on a brave face, until one day I decided I just couldn’t do that any more…sadly this made a slight rift between us, that is until my brother was diagnosed 2 year ago…now she has said sorry for not believing in me and for not helping me more…she still has bad days herself where she gets very cross and doesn’t want to admit we are sick, but I know I can’t hard it from the world any more as its not healthy for me!

  2. Claire says:

    *hide it from the world…

  3. Thank you for your comment Clare. I know from a friends blog that it helps others to share, as they don`t feel so alone. I also know that when I write it all down that it`s a great way to offload and carry on.
    I`m glad to read that you now know how to handle your depression, to recognise your triggers and symptoms goes a long way to living as `normal` a life as possible.It`s sad about your Mother but her generation were very stigmatised about mental health, very much the `pull yourself together` community, and to admit depression was to admit weakness in those days, and I can imagine that is hard to shake off as a way of thinking. It`s lovely that you have a great husband and children behind you though, they must be a huge help, x

Leave a Reply

