“What do you call people who are afraid of Santa Claus? Claustrophobic.”

Nearly Christmas

As I start this next blog my Son & I already have four Christmas cards on our shelf! I love cards, I think they show that people have thought of you. I have family & friends that think they`re a waste of money and never send Birthday or Christmas cards but as I love seeing mine so I make a point of sending them. interview-tips

My Son has left early this morning, 08:52, and was out the door before 8am after getting up at 6am. He has a job interview and was so nervous that he checked and unchecked everything last night and this morning several times. He was worried that he wasn`t dressed smart enough, but was clean shaven, showered and dressed as smartly as finances would allow. (He looked respectable) He has quite a trek on buses and by foot before he gets to his destination, so he has allowed plenty of time as he`s unsure where to find it, despite Google mapping and checking bus routes numerous times.  We live seven miles outside of our nearest town so that has to be paid for before he even gets into the town to travel around in it, but if he can just get one foot on the wrung of that ladder then he can start to save for a moped. As a Mother

I think things would be a lot better for him if he finally got a job, his self esteem hits rock bottom at times and I end up on the receiving end verbally. I in turn feel quite claustrophobic having him home pretty much 24/7 and so the circle turns. He is a good Lad, and has a good heart that he tries to pretend he doesn`t have, (an age thing) and I am hoping that today will be a turning point for him as it`ll do him the world of good if they take him on.

To my Children 2

Three generations of Doctors were united in the story, alongside the current companion Clara

I spent last weekend a little over excited at the television at home. More than 10 million people tuned in to see the special 50th anniversary episode of Doctor Who in the UK, according to overnight viewing figures.  At its peak, the show was watched by 10.61 million viewers, with an average of 10.2 million across the 75-minute running time. I have watched Dr Who since I was a very small child with the late Jon Pertwee being the one that stays in my memory the most, as I think happens with each generation, their Dr Who is whoever they watched as a child. My Son loves Tom Baker and was overjoyed when a friend of mine knitted him a extra long scarf like his favourite Dr Who.

A composite image showing all 12 actors to have played the Doctor was released for the 50th anniversary

Ireland Rugby.

Then Sunday was spent shouting and screaming and jumping up and down in my seat as my beloved Irish Rugby team played against the formidable New Zealand `All Blacks.`We had previously lost to Australia and so I really didn`t have high hopes, but to my utter excitement I barely breathed for 80minutes! We led at 22-7 until the interval and continued to do well but as the final quarter was in NZ started to dominate and it ended at 24-22 and ultimate disappointment but I felt so proud that we had got so close and held our ground for so long.

Crucial miss Jonathan Sexton reacts after missing a penalty kick for Ireland with four minutes to go

My Son went to his interview, and it was quite a trek but he feels he did well and got on well with the man that did the interview but though he waits to hear, he fears the distance and early starts will mean he doesn`t get the job as he relies on public transport, but we`ll see.

Explenations.

I still visit the dating site, but not very often as it doesn`t really interest me. Id had a date some time back and had texted and messaged him for some time previous but only on meeting him did I fully appreciate his manner. Firstly he had made a comment about not liking the Irish, I let that blow over as everyones entitled to their opinion and then he made a discriminatory remark about Travellers to which id had enough and snapped that my Father is an Irish traveller! He didn`t even apologise but he seems to be quite racist anyway and I can`t abide any sort of discrimination whether it be race, sexuality or disability, so he was a no no.

Find someone who will.....

I`ve had offers on my facebook from far flung lands to be their girlfriend and others on the dating site to meet up, but to be honest, I`m really not that bothered these days, I even had one guy that messaged me to model for him as he makes garden furniture for the disabled!

On that note I wanted you to watch this as I think it`s the best little film of it`s kind, no patronising, exaggerated or `inspirational` connotations and just so simple that it points out the daily life of how we have to get round things others take for granted.

About Maith an cailin

Born in the 1960s, I`m a single Mum of a young adult. I am a full-time wheelchair user, who has been single since a marriage breakdown in 2008. I live in a UK remote village, not easy with a disability but this is a honest account of a ordinary Woman with a disability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

