Voices

Voices………………….

too-quiet-for-you

Voices flow,

    like rivers,

Ageless,

     like rivers.

fluid,

       like rivers.

Voices talk,

     express,

           meander,

               explain,

                     share,

rushing their emotions,

     in streams undammed;

Weaving around,

           thoughts;

sweeping up debris,

in a continuous flow,

                     ageless,

                          fluid,

                               voices talk,

                                    like rivers.

SAK-(C)-5/3/2017.

river

One thing about working on the helpline never ceases to amaze, fascinate, intrigue, I’m not sure what the right word should be, but is often finding out the age of the person (usually women) I’m talking to. Why? It often comes as a surprise when they tell me they are over 60, and yet their voice has had me thinking I am talking to someone much younger.

Was it their terminology? Their voice itself? Attitude? I often don`t know and yet I can speak to another and be left thinking they were much older than their years. Often I’m left thinking age is merely a state of mind, or a result of our life experiences that has left us afraid to lead a full life and leave us living a timid, reclusive, safe life that leaves us old beyond our years.

Our voices on the telephone can be a disguise as no one can see us, we can be any age or anyone we want to be. I answer the helpline in the safe knowledge that they can`t see my disability, my wheelchair, and for those few moments I am their equal, their mentor, their safe place for a little while.

Rivers through us.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Maith an cailin

Born in the 1960s, I`m a single Mum of a young adult. I am a full-time wheelchair user, who has been single since a marriage breakdown in 2008. I live in a UK remote village, not easy with a disability but this is a honest account of a ordinary Woman with a disability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

